RSS

Kirstenham Palace

09 Sep

With yesterday being a boring and rather depressing day (one where you realize your friends are all very far away and you wait all day for someone to text you back), I have no crazy adventures to speak of. So I will finally share some photographic evidence of my Crib, known henceforth as Kirstenham Palace, or just The Palace for short.

The Palace is located in a dorm building specifically for foreign teacher types and a few lucky students as well. All the other students on campus live in quarters that sound reminiscent of a cattle barn (six to a room and communal “showers” that are actually just sinks. We provide the water, you provide the wash basin!) So while I initially was quite underwhelmed by The Palace, I now know that I should be quite grateful. And besides, this sure beats living in a tiny room with 5 other girls, with our beds separated by a sheet hanging from the ceiling, a la Afghanistan. So with that healthy dose of perspective, here goes!

Here is the amazing combined parlor and sleeping quarters, complete with twin bed and some lovely patterned chairs.

Check out my pillow! I’m pretty sure it’s a buckwheat oriental pillow… which I quickly replaced with a Normal Person pillow.

Here is the TV that I never use and the sensational lesson-planning/watching-cat-videos desk, with a chair perfectly-shaped to dry out work-out clothes and clean laundry. They really have thought of everything, haven’t they? Also take note of the ancient, virus-infested desktop computer sitting unused in the corner.

Next up, we have the food preparation area! Microwave, hotplate, sink, and washing machine. All the necessities of life.

Here’s a nice cozy place to freshen up. Having everything so close together really simplifies the cleansing process. What a time-saver!

And to top it all off, I have a view of Water Lily Pond! Do the wonders never end? This photo came on a day with remarkably little air pollution. Insert a low grey haze for my typical Tianjin weather thus far.

And here we go, the last photo of the day. My resident cook (me) made an exceptional egg scramble this morning. Maybe one day, once she has accumulated enough hotplate skill, she will attempt some western-style pancakes! Can’t wait.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Kirstenham Palace

  1. glutenfreevegandelicious

    September 9, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    Kirsten! It’s been such a long time! I saw the link to your blog on FB and it’s so cool to see what you’re up to these days šŸ™‚ Hope this finds you marvelously happy in your new pad šŸ™‚
    Danae

     
    • cornchipmeteor

      September 11, 2012 at 8:47 am

      Hey Danae! Yes, I’m feeling remarkably settled in for living here for only two weeks. China is an incredibly chaotic country, which makes every day exciting (and potentially annoying, but those are the best blog posts.) I’ve FB-stalked you over the years, and it looks like you have a wonderful, happy family. Thanks for reading along and experiencing China with me!

       

Leave a Reply

 
