RSS

Gettin’ jiggy on Mid-Autumn Festival

30 Sep

Happy Mid-Autumn Festival, gangstas! This is your chance to get on a ridiculously-crowded train to your home town, spend a solid week eating with your family, and then cry yourself to sleep at night when you realize you can’t justify eating armfuls of moon cakes again for another whole year. For real, these things are actually sweet. Chinese dessert that’s sweet! Win.

What’s the best way to celebrate the holiday, besides eating moon cakes? Go clubbing, of course! I met a few friends at Alibaba’s, which has seemingly become our weekend hangout spot. Highlights: I discovered that China has no idea what tacos are, some Chinese guys are inexplicably really into British soccer (I think they screamed every time someone kicked the ball), and my tiny Chinese friend evidently has an amazing capacity for Tsingtao beer… I guess she wanted a nice hangover for her standing-room-only, 13-hour train ride to Hangzhou? Have fun with that!

Full of liquid courage, my other friends and I decided to hit the dance floor. Our first stop was Scarlet, but it appeared that every person in Tianjin had gone to that club. We walked in, saw there was nowhere to stand, sit, or breath, and admitted defeat.

Next up was Apple, where there was a terrible pop band playing completely undanceable music. Two lady singers were on stage, but I think only one of them could actually sing. The other just clapped and gave emotional support. So I did air guitar and drums for a while, saw that no one else was dancing, and thought it was a good time to leave.

We gave one more place a try: Xitang. This place is very popular with foreigners, and get this, people were actually dancing! Or rather, they were moving their bodies somewhat rhythmically to obnoxiously-loud club music. I don’t believe Chinese people are particularly known for their dance moves… which makes me feel right at home! I only got pushed away by one person I was trying to dance with, so I will count that as a success. And as always, I am amazed at how Chinese girls can dance in 3-inch heels. I think it’s a super power.

This morning, lacking Denny’s and Taco Bell, my friend and I had the next-best thing. Because what screams slightly-hungover food like cold noodles and fried bread thingies with red-bean filling?

Mmmm! Actually, they were really tasty, and dirt-cheap, and the greasiness really hit the spot. Maybe Denny’s should make red-bean pancakes? It would be the best of both worlds.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2012 in Night Life, Tianjin

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Gettin’ jiggy on Mid-Autumn Festival

  1. Danielle Whipple

    October 1, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Felicia Day tried to make moon cakes on the Flog. They didn’t turn out right, but the ones in your pic look delicious!

     
    • cornchipmeteor

      October 1, 2012 at 10:21 am

      I saw that! Those were some sad little piglets.

       

Leave a Reply

 
