RSS

Chiang Mai & Phuket: Temple and Sun

21 Feb

Helen and I are travel fiends.

On our last day in Chiang Mai I did laundry AGAIN (I didn’t want my shorts smelling like elephant.) I said goodbye to the puppy there, who is possibly the cutest puppy in the history of the universe.

image

Love me!

We also checked out one more temple for hits and shiggles.

It was the best one in Chiang Mai yet! It’s on the north side of downtown and was sensationally sparkly.

image

There was this awesome old Mercedes just chillin’

image

And a prayer tree! I left a leaf on there for my family.

image

Possibly the best part was finding some artists in the back of the temple, doing their art thing and being amazing. One guy was a wood carver and was selling these elephants. Even I, who doesn’t really buy souvenirs, couldn’t pass these up.

image

By the time we were done exploring the temple, it was about time to go to the airport. A tuk tuk pulled into the hostel just as we walked out with our bags–perfect timing!

Our flight to Bangkok, with a connection to Phuket, was inexplicably delayed. We’ve come to expect this from Thai Smile. Luckily we and our luggage still made the next flight, and we found ourselves in Phuket!

The next morning, I picked up some swim shorts, towel, and flip flops, since I lost one of my flip flops on the trek. Then it was all about the beach, seeing fat men naked or in speedos, and getting a sunburn. Oh, beach life.

image

You don't have to tell me how schmexy my white belly is.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2013 in Travel

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Chiang Mai & Phuket: Temple and Sun

  1. youngontheroad

    February 21, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    ahha “Smell like elephant”. I wonder what elephant even smells like?? I can’t wait until I can go to Chaiang Mai to have a whiff! Just kidding.

     
    • cornchipmeteor

      February 23, 2013 at 7:22 pm

      Elephants smell like poop, so take a big whiff! Between that and their pee that looks like a golden waterfall, they’re pretty majestic creatures 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
