RSS

Coffee, Hot Pot, and Rhinos

03 Apr

Hello, dear interweb friends! Interfriends? Life marches on here in Tianjin. The weather continues to warm by slow degrees, and people still gasp in surprise if I happen to wear a short-sleeve T-shirt (inside or outside.) Little do they know that my blubber layer protects me from extreme cold.

There was slight shenanigans last Friday night. This is an oddly-placed rhino statue on Chengdu Road that obviously needed to be climbed.

Yeeeeehaw!

Yeeeeehaw!

Later, creepy Chinese businessman asshole from last week showed up at Helen’s, but we managed to ward off the evil by already having our table full of awesome people. Sorry, your money can’t win our hearts and minds.

Saturday, I continued my campaign to watch All of the Movies I’ve Missed. I also met a wonderful student on my campus via WeChat, who is offering to show me his hometown in Anhui province when I’m making my mighty trek all across China this summer. Due to his and three other’s generosity, I now have tour guides for Qingdao, Shanghai, Guangzhou, and Anhui. I can’t wait for summer!

Sunday, my  friends and I bought our train tickets to Taishan for this Thursday. Since Tomb Sweeping Festival is a three-day national holiday, a lot of the trains were already sold out. But we managed to hold up our line at the train station for an awkwardly long time and got everything figured out.

With our travel arrangements made, we headed to Perfect Day Cafe (formerly The Spot) and lounged on some bean bag chairs. Notice the pile of papers waiting to be graded on the table. I graded three out of forty in the span of two hours. Not bad.

Lounging just got a whole lot bean baggier.

Lounging just got a whole lot bean baggier.

Next up was hot pot at my Chinese friend Ting Ting’s apartment. We hit up a vegetable/meat market for all of the necessary ingredients. Holy food mountain, Batman!

Complete with festive pink Easter baskets.

Complete with festive pink Easter baskets.

After buying far too much meat and veg, we then returned to her apartment, only to discover that she didn’t have chopsticks….?!?!?! Her excuse was that she never cooks for herself. Hm. By the time she ran out and picked up a package of chopsticks from the convenience store, our veggies were chopped, the pot was boiling, and we were ready to dive in! Hot pot is seriously good, guys. It’s so good, it makes eating vegetables fun again.

Nothing like various foods boiled in a tasty broth and dipped in peanut sauce.

Nothing like various foods boiled in a tasty broth and dipped in peanut sauce.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2013 in Friends, Life, Tianjin

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
