RSS

Hot Eats, Cool Treats

21 May

It’s springtime! For the most part, I’ve done what any sane person does during bouts of nice weather, and I’ve stayed inside watching back-to-back-to-back episodes of “Lost Girl” (season four can’t get here fast enough, by the way.) But on occasion, I have ventured out into the scary, pollen-filled outdoors.

I photo-bombed my own flowers picture.

Pretty things! And also, me.

More frequently, I have wandered into restaurants with friends, eager to satisfy our growling bellies with food that is usually some combination of rice or noodles. Let’s explore some of my latest food discoveries!

  • I’ve had 麻辣香锅 (Spicy Good-Smelly Pot) before, but ZOMG, there’s a restaurant nearby “Amelia’s” apartment that is absolutely divine. It’s one of those great “choose-your-own-ingredients” types of restaurant, so you can pick and choose all the yummy veggies, tofu, fungi,  and meat that you enjoy. It’s best to go easy on the fungi and meat, though, otherwise you’ll end up paying way too much money (like Amelia and I did the first time we went there.) Also, beware of accidentally eating one of the hot peppers. Mouth fire is real.
Get in my belly!

Get in my belly!

  • 肉夹馍  (meat bread thingie) and 酸梅汤 (plum juice): although I’ve traveled to Xi’an before, I somehow missed out on these distinctive Xi’an eats. Chopped-up beef sandwich, with a bowl of noodles and some juice? What’s not to like?
A balanced meal.

A balanced meal.

  • 烤面包 (toast): when some students and I ordered toast from a restaurant, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Bread on a stick, held over a fire for a while. Legit.
Ping Ping being a good toast model.

Ping Ping being a good toast model.

  • Last, but not least, 南瓜饼 (pumpkin yum yums). These are the sweetest thangs I’ve had in China! And they’re pumpkin!! They sadly lack cinnamon and nutmeg, but the abundance of sugar sprinkled over the top somewhat makes up for it.
When in doubt, dump sugar.

When in doubt, dump sugar on EVERYTHING.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 21, 2013 in Food, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
